Very Odd Spam

Hi there! Sorry for an e-mail out of the blue, but I just did a search for the term matrix triology on Google and found wdr1.com ranked 23. Since I publish a related website about Gifts (it’s strictly informational, so I’m definitely NOT a competitor of yours), I’d like to link to your site.

My site is one of the best resources for info in our category. Because of this great info, I get a pretty decent amount of visitors…so if I link to you, your site should get some nice traffic as well.

I think you’ll see that my site is pretty clean and high quality. I consider my site a good product, and I only request to link to other quality sites. I would ask that you also link to my site in exchange. So you know, I’ve already linked to you and will keep it there for a few days until I hear from you. If you’re interested in swapping links for good, please reply back so I can get you all of the pertinent information.

Thanks!

Christine A. [bleep]
RAC IM: [bleep]

9 Responses to “Very Odd Spam”

  1. ben Says:

    This site is the source for information on the Matrix Triology. There is no reason to link off of this site to any other sites about the Matrix Triology.

  2. Bill Says:

    I like to think of my as THE information souce n the Matrix Triology thankyouverymuch.

  3. rick Says:

    you better look over your shoulder when you walk around in public. she’s probably stalking you too.

  4. misa Says:

    mebbe she just wants a date with you. swap “links” indeed.

  5. Hugh Campbell Says:

    I just got one of these, looks like a web-crawler that extracts mail addresses from your page then formats up a plausible email- mine was cc’d to 2 addresses; all 3 addresses were on the page in question.

    The google ranking stated (22) was wrong, I had to tighten the search from “disposable contact lens” (as found in the email) to “disposable contact lens site:unimelb.edu.au” to find a page, but it worked.

    The website was about Health and Beauty, but otherwise the email content was the same, name and everything. The return email address’s domain (cpterson.com) is registered to a spammer (bizcn.com)

  6. Jacko Says:

    Got one from Christine Peterson to. Seems a tour company comes up on a games search at google at number 6!
    Not even a hint of her web adress!

  7. Ken Walker Says:

    Truth, just got one of these myself on MMORPG web sites.

  8. Me Says:

    FYI, these “link exchange” spams look like they’re from trafficlogic.com. They want a link from your site to improve their client’s search results. In exchange, they’ll give you a useless link from a fake web index site.

  9. Popular Scam Says:

    Been there done that. Popular scam. Information available at several webmaster forums about TL shady methods, e.g. http://www.ihelpyouservices.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12317

Leave a Reply